• GSPRA Professional Award Winners

    The Georgia School Public Relations Association recognizes excellence in the field of school public relations and commitment to the organization through our professional awards for members. In addition, GSPRA honors communications leadership through the Outstanding Leadership in School/Community Relations Award for those who are not PR professionals. The Andy Olson Award of Excellence in School Public Relations— at one time, a competitive awards program to salute exemplary programs and projects— will be retooled and relaunched in the future. Click here for a list of past winners. 

    Marie Wofford Professional Award

    This award recognizes a GSPRA member for outstanding work in the field of public relations prior to and during the previous school year. A nominated member may be at any point (early, mid-career, retiring, etc.) in his or her career. Nominations are accepted from members, colleagues, supervisors, and superintendents/Board members. Nominees must be members in good standing. Prior to 2014, the GSPRA Professional Growth Award recognized an outstanding GSPRA member who was a newcomer to the field of public relations. A winner may not be named every year. The award honors the contributions of Marie Wofford a longtime and much-missed member who passed away in 2007.
    2018 - Amy Nunnally, Burke County Public Schools
    2017 - Callen Moore, Walton County School District 
    2016 - LaVerne Rome, Lowndes County Schools 

    Anne Raymond Distinguished Service Award

    This award honors a GSPRA member for his or her commitment and dedication to the organization and to the profession. Typically, this member has gone above and beyond the call to support GSPRA and GSPRAns. Any GSPRA member in good standing may nominate a fellow member for this award. A winner may not be named every year. The award honors a GSPRA founder who is considered “The Mother of GSPRA.”

    2015 - Jim Weidhaas, APR, Glynn County Schools

    Outstanding Leadership in School/Community Relations Award

    This award recognizes an individual, other than those directly responsible for a public relations program, who has proven himself or herself to be a leader in using effective school/community relations to build support for public education in his or her community. Nominations will be accepted from any Georgia school, school system, postsecondary institution, educational agency, or association. A winner may not be named every year. 
    2017 - Dr. Brian V. Hightower, Superintendent of Schools, Cherokee County School District
    2016 - Lisa-Marie Haygood, President, Georgia PTA
    2015 - Dr. Stan DeJarnett, Executive Director, Georgia Vision Project